Tempe FanCon

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Tempe Public Library FanCon

 

FanCon-background-date
 
Saturday, Jan. 25, 2020

10 a.m. - 4 p.m.

Celebrating its 6th year, FanCon is an annual event featuring costume contests, artists & authors, shopping, and activities for children and adults alike.  Fans of Marvel, DC, Star Wars, Wholocks, Trekkies, and more are invited to gather at the Tempe Public Library in costume for a celebration of pop culture.

WHY COMICS?

You may be asking yourself, "Why would librarians be encouraging people to read comics? Don't they prefer serious books?" The truth is librarians love reading of all kinds! Comics and graphic novels can encourage literacy and boost reading skills in many ways.
  • Images provide the context necessary to help build vocabulary for ESL & reluctant readers
  • The slow pace of analyzing images and pausing in between panels encourages time to reflect and build reading comprehension
  • Colorful graphics and exciting story lines can captivate attention span & interest of all ages

EXHIBITORS

Interested in becoming an exhibitor? Please fill out the Interest Form.

SELLERS

In order to sell books and merchandise at the event, you are required to have State of Arizona tax license including additional Tempe tax fees. You can obtain your license here.

All other questions, please email:

Jill Brenner, Adult Services Librarian

jill_brenner@tempe.gov

 

Back to top